UGC declares 24 Universities across the country as ‘fake’

    The University Grants Commission (UGC) on Wednesday declared a list of 24 self-styled, unrecognised institutions in the country, and termed them as fake in a move to carry its responsibility of maintaining standards of Higher Education, with maximum of them operating from Uttar Pradesh and then followed by Delhi.

    UGC Secretary Rajnish Jain opined, “Students and pubic are informed that currently 24 self-styled, unrecognised institutions are functioning in contravention of the UGC Act, which have been declared as fake universities and these are not empowered to confer any degree.”

    As per Section 23 of the UGC Act, the use of the term ‘university’ is prohibited from being used, unless explicitly established as one as per Section 3 of the UGC Act. Apart from Uttar Pradesh and Delhi, West Bengal and Odisha have two fake universities each in their states. While Kerala, Karnataka, Maharashtra and Puducherry and Andhra Pradesh have one each.

    Aspiring students are thereby advised not to pursue higher education courses with such fake and self-styled universities/vishwavidhyalas. The following are the list of universities declared fake by the UGC:


    Commercial University Ltd, Daryaganj, Delhi.

    United Nations University, Delhi.

    Vocational University, Delhi.

    ADR- Central Juridical University, Delhi.

    Indian Institute of Science and Engineering, New Delhi.

    Vishwakarma Open University for self-employment, Delhi.

    Adhyatmik Vishwavidhyalaya, Delhi


    Badaganvi Sarkar World Open University Education Society, Karnataka


    St. John’s University, Kerala.


    Raja Arabic University, Maharashtra.

    West Bengal

    Indian Institute of Alternative Medicine, Kolkata

    Institute of Alternative Medicine and Research, Kolkata

    Uttar Pradesh

    Varanaseya Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya, Varanasi, UP.

    Mahila Gram Visyapeeth/ Vishwavidhyalaya, Allahabad, UP.

    Gandhi Hindi Vidyapeeth, Allahabad, UP.

    National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy, Kanpur, UP

    Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose University (Open University), Aligarh, UP.

    Uttar Pradesh Vishwavidhyalaya, Mathura, UP.

    Maharana Pratap Shiksha Niketan Vishwavishyalaya, Pratapgarh, UP.

    Indraprashtha Shiksha Parishad, Institutional Area, Noida, UP.


    Nababharat Shiksha Parishad, Rourkela.

    North Orissa University of Agriculture & Technology, Odisha.


    Sree Bodhi Academy of Higher Education, Puducherry.

    Andhra Pradesh

    Christ New Testament Deemed University, Guntur, AP.