Central Government Constitutes National Council For Transgender Persons

    The Centre has constituted the national council for transgender persons, headed by the Union social justice minster and comprising representatives from 10 central departments, five states and members of the community.

    The council – India’s first and formed under Transgender Persons (Protection of Rights) Act,2019 was announced in the gazette notification.

    It shall comprise of a Chairperson who shall be the ex-officio Union Minister of Social Justice & Empowerment and a Vice-Chairperson who shall be the ex-officio Minister of State for Social Justice & Empowerment.

    According to the legislation, the council has five main functions –

    • Advising the central government on the formulation of policies, programmes, legislation and projects with respect to transgender persons.
    • Monitoring and evaluating the impact of policies and programmes designed for achieving equality and full participation of transgender persons.
    • Reviewing and coordinating the activities of all the departments.
    • Redressing grievances of transgender persons.
    • Performing such other functions as prescribed by the Centre.

    The council will have joint secretary-level members from the ministries of health, home, minority affairs, education, rural development, labour and law. In addition, there will be a member from the department of pensions, Niti Aayog, National Human Rights Commission and National Commission for Women.

    R Subramanyam, Union social justice secretary, said: “The transgender welfare board would guide the government in welfare schemes for them.”